Anniversaries Remembered

Michael and I celebrate two anniversaries this week.  On the 14th, we celebrated our 5 year engagement anniversary.  On the 15th, we celebrated our 7 year dating anniversary.  So, in honor of him I will tell you our small courtship story before we became official.  I will pick up from where I left off on Sunday.

So, Michael and I went on our first what we call “friend date” in December 2004, walking around looking at Christmas lights and talking about our lives.  This was also the first relationship that I could see God working.  We both left college by the end of that week to spend Christmas with our families.  Every day of that vacation, we wrote to each other.  Yes, I’ve kept every single email he has ever sent me during that vacation (as well as every one after that).

When we got back, my impulsive nature wanted us to jump into a relationship right away.  This is something I had always done with the previous relationships.  Michael, on the other hand, wanted me to wait.  He had just gotten out of a relationship in November, and he wasn’t quite as impulsive as me.  He also saw relationships in a much healthier light.  He looked at dating as a stepping stone to marriage.  If he didn’t want to marry the girl, there wasn’t any point to dating her.

So, I waited…quite impatiently, but I knew that God was still in this relationship, and if I was going to make this change, I had to let Him lead, as well as let Michael lead.  We went on a couple of other dates, most of them walking through parks or on walking trails.  We even had our favorite walking trail that we went to most nights.

Then Valentine’s Day came.  Michael and I had become very close friends at this point, and I couldn’t think of anyone else I wanted to be with.  We went to Dairy Queen for blizzards (it was quite warm that evening, so this really made sense, even in February), but we only went as friends.  The next night, as we went on one of our famous walks on our favorite trail, he asked me to be his girlfriend.  I told him I would think about it.  No, that’s a lie.  I adamantly said yes.  :)  He told me later that he didn’t want to ask me on Valentine’s Day because there is a lot of pressure that comes with that day.  We still count that “friend date” as the beginning of our exclusive relationship.

Each year after that, we would celebrated our anniversary by going to Dairy Queen.

In fact, he actually proposed to me at Dairy Queen.  He bought me a Valentine’s heart shaped box, and there nestled on the lap of this pink bear was the most gorgeous ring I had ever seen (he picked it out).  Yes, I kept the heart shaped box, bear, and ring box.  I’m such a sentimental hoarder.  :)

Do you have any special milestone traditions in your relationship?

4 thoughts on “Anniversaries Remembered

  1. Pingback: Anniversaries and Valentine’s Day | Our Simple Love Story

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day | Our Simple Love Story

Leave a Reply

